Major refurbishments were undertaken in the early 1990s, and the library provides an enhanced Arts Library which includes music CDs and comercially produced video recordings. The oldest County Library also has computer-based service for its staff and customers.
Pontypridd Library was built on Gelliwastad Field and was opened in November 1890. However, it suffered for a period of over 40 years when lack of funding and restrictions on expenditure left people with a deplorable library service. It was repaired, altered and extended in 1930. The library has experienced periods of decline and recovery ever since.
St Catherine's Church
St Catherine's Church
Pontypridd Library
Photograph of St Catherine's Church taken from Gelliwastad Road.
The Muni
6
Police Headquarters
The centre is situated near the Old Bridge. It is housed in the former Tabernacle Chapel built in 1861, and was refurbished in 1910. It closed as a chapel in 1983 and then was refurbished before it was relaunched as the  Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centre.
This old photograph shows the tram tracks across Victoria Bridge leading into the town centre. Tabernacle Chapel and the Old Bridge can also be seen in this photograph.
Pontypridd Old Bridge and Victoria Bridge
The old bridge was built by William Edwards in 1756. The Victoria Bridge was built alongside the original bridge in 1857. This photograph shows tram tracks running along the Victoria Bridge.
 William Edwards (1718-89) modified his previous attempt at designing a one arch bridge in 1756 with holes to lighted the weight at the sides. This was successful and the bridge still stands today.
William Edwards (1718-89) had several attempts at building a bridge across the River Taffstarting in 1746. he started with a three arched construction but this was destroyed by a flood after two and a half years. He then designed a single span bridge, but this one failed because the staging used in the construction collapsed before the bridge was completed. His attempt at a one arch bridge eventually succeeded.
Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centret is housed in the former Tabernacle Chapel built in 1861. It closed as a chapel in 1983 and was then taken over by the Town Council. The Centre gives a glimpse into the historical and cultural past of the area, and features permanent and temporary exhibitions to tell the story of Pontypridd and its people from pre-industrial times to the present day.
14
15
16
The Muni Arts Centre
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
Market Street
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
37
36
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
Pontypridd Walk
dpj
Author: dpj (ID: 9676)
Posted: 2010-03-14 20:49 GMT+00:00
Mileage: 2.18 km
(0 ratings)
Tags: Grand Tour, Pontypridd, i-gotU, St Catherine's Church, William Edwards
Views: 1791
Share
Embed this trip
Click here to load all photos (48)

Pontypridd Library
Major refurbishments were undertaken in the early 1990s, and the library provides an enhanced Arts Library which includes music CDs and comercially produced video recordings. The oldest County Library also has computer-based service for its staff and customers.
Pontypridd Library (Old Photograph)
Pontypridd Library was built on Gelliwastad Field and was opened in November 1890. However, it suffered for a period of over 40 years when lack of funding and restrictions on expenditure left people with a deplorable library service. It was repaired, altered and extended in 1930. The library has experienced periods of decline and recovery ever since.
St Catherine's Church
St Catherine's Church
Pontypridd Library
St Catherine's Church
Photograph of St Catherine's Church taken from Gelliwastad Road.
The Muni
6
Police Headquarters
Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centre
The centre is situated near the Old Bridge. It is housed in the former Tabernacle Chapel built in 1861, and was refurbished in 1910. It closed as a chapel in 1983 and then was refurbished before it was relaunched as the Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centre.
Tabernacle Square and Old Bridge
This old photograph shows the tram tracks across Victoria Bridge leading into the town centre. Tabernacle Chapel and the Old Bridge can also be seen in this photograph.
Pontypridd Old Bridge and Victoria Bridge
Victoria Bridge and the Old Bridge
The old bridge was built by William Edwards in 1756. The Victoria Bridge was built alongside the original bridge in 1857. This photograph shows tram tracks running along the Victoria Bridge.
The Old Bridge
 William Edwards (1718-89) modified his previous attempt at designing a one arch bridge in 1756 with holes to lighted the weight at the sides. This was successful and the bridge still stands today.
Stone Engarving on Old Bridge
William Edwards (1718-89) had several attempts at building a bridge across the River Taffstarting in 1746. he started with a three arched construction but this was destroyed by a flood after two and a half years. He then designed a single span bridge, but this one failed because the staging used in the construction collapsed before the bridge was completed. His attempt at a one arch bridge eventually succeeded.
Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centre
Pontypridd Historical and Cultural Centret is housed in the former Tabernacle Chapel built in 1861. It closed as a chapel in 1983 and was then taken over by the Town Council. The Centre gives a glimpse into the historical and cultural past of the area, and features permanent and temporary exhibitions to tell the story of Pontypridd and its people from pre-industrial times to the present day.
14
15
16
The Muni Arts Centre
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
Market Street
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
37
36
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
Post to:
FacebookMySpaceDiggDelicious
StumbleUponGoogle BookmarksYahoo! Bookmarks
FunPHEMiDEMi

Comments

Loading...

Leave your comment

Name:
Email: (Optional)
URL: (Optional)
Message:
You can use some HTML tags, such as <b>, <i>, <u>, <s>
Verification:


Regenerate
 
©2024 Mobile Action Technology, Inc.